Fourteen Sachem Street

These forty years have diminished your dimensions

or expanded mine, you,

when held ‘longside my memories

having walked ’round Walden Pond this morning, this evening

I rest upon the porch where once

I sat for a single photograph

on a day when I was happy, and

mother smiled softly

at that image of her son.

Your patina, as apparent as mine and

each speaks of our years apart and

all the days I hungered for your refuge.

But I am loved house, and

the dreams and prayers that

diffused through your walls

have often returned to live in places far away,

in other houses where I spoke of you

and the porch on which I sat

on a day when I was pictured yours

and you, mine.

Leave a Reply

