If You Will Have Me

I hope to die

into my own life,

surrender to all

its pain and pleasures

so deep and real

as to move easy,

mist on water, a

leaf in wind, and

never speak of it

beyond a grateful nod

to the universe.

Having struggled with

dispossession for so

long, then, by my stars,

reaching a pitch of

absurdity as if

listing over into a

great fall from all pretense.

It is good to fail

brilliant and slow

and send the husk

flaming far into

horizons. This is

the light of the

world. If you

will have me in my

state of grace, I will

stay on, keep

breathing until I

can no longer,

and somehow

learn to love.

One thought on “If You Will Have Me

Leave a Reply

