Sabbath

IMG_7240

I remember

what I knew of Sabbath

before I learned

a broader way to be it,

now held dearly

with the understanding

of things so wide as to

make me small

for the taking up of being right

where I belong. I walk happy

on the perennial journey

from form to faith.

You see, when Sabbath rises,

the dew ferments

on fresh cut grass

so my nose and lungs

ride tandem in

musky camaraderie, that too

my head, my heart, my hands

are joined in praise.

I am soaked to my socks in unity.

I say this is everything, learning

how to rest.

I have come to

observe it

more than not.

Leave a Reply

