Numinous

As night

summoned a

hidden despair,

I sang in silent harmony

with a lone coyote; his

call was ragged with

longing and he

was wondering where

his love had gone.

When the song was over,

and the stars hung still,

I whispered to the

wild spirits who understand

such things.

Know my heart O

world of suffering;

I will not tell you

who you are.

Know my heart O

mystery of peace

inhabiting

beyond my

use of words.

Know my heart and

hear my prayer

that only bears

this yearning.

I believe

coyote found his love,

curled with her, slept

deep in agelessness.

To have the life

most leave unlived

one would stop

inventing God

and howl.

2 thoughts on “Numinous

Leave a Reply

